Sea Life and death (in the way of tasty tasty meals).

Over the weekend, Hubby and I went to Sea Center Texas, a free sealife center owned and operated by Texas Parks and Wildlife.

At the Sea Center, they have a bunch of different aquariums set up with species of fish and crustaceans that you can find in the waters near the Texas coast. (I didn’t take many pictures inside, because I know from experience that my camera will not capture what I want it to when taking pictures of fish inside aquariums).

Ever since our Florida trip, I have been trying to retain my knowledge of fish species. This is one thing that I want to pass on to everyone in the world:

This is not a dolphin.
For some reason, the “fish people” like to call this a dolphin, and list it on restaurant menus as such. So, unsuspecting tourists, who know nothing about marine mammal protection laws, endangered species laws, or food for that matter, think they are ACTUALLY eating this guy:
 
Not people food
 
when they are actually eating this guy:
 
people food
 
I know, it’s an honest mistake since they look so similar but in fact, the green shiny animal is a very tasty sport fish, also known as Mahi Mahi. They are delicious, and in no way related to REAL dolphins.
OK, now that we got THAT out of the way…
 
Hubby and I also went down there to do some birding, and we lost track of how many species we saw by the end of the day. I think we counted 10 or 11, just at the Sea Center, because they have a wetland area and a brackish water area, that is also part of the fish hatchery there.
(This has made me kick myself repeatedly, and now hopefully I will remember to bring paper to write down our bird list!)
 
Later, we drove around Freeport to check out the beach and get some lunch. We found some adorable beach houses that you can rent for a weekend:
They make me want to relax, just looking at them
 
And then we found a great place to bird, as well as put in your kayaks and catch red drum!
 
Roseate Spoonbills! One of my favorite birds as a child!

 So of course, now we are in the mood to take our kayaks down here and go fishing as soon as it warms up! But, as we discovered, it’s a little difficult to look for a restaurant after a recent hurricane. Hurricane Ike, although in 2008, did some major damage to this area. We attempted three restaurants with the GPS. Two were bars, and I doubt served food.

This was the third place.

Dinner, anyone?

Anyone might be thinking, what’s wrong with that? It looks a little shady, but it’s a seafood restaurant in Freeport…that’s how they all look,

Except for the fact that I wasn’t taking a picture of the blue house in the background. I was taking a picture of the CONCRETE FOUNDATION THAT WAS ONCE A RESTAURANT.

Ya.
 
Still hungry.
 
So we ended up at a Country Cafe type place that was pretty good, but lacking on the seafood variety. That’s ok, I was in the mood for fried shrimp, with french FRIES, and hushpuppies (i.e. deep fried corn batter). At least there was some color on my plate: Cole slaw!
 
Healthiest. Meal. Ever.
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

