Garden Plans: During

Over the weekend, Hubby and I  were good home-owners, and dedicated a whole day to landscaping! Ok, so I’ve been wanting to do this since winter, but FINALLY got a chance to do it!

If you remember, when we bought the house, the yard was….lacking.

I love to gardening, but my version is to plant stuff that will live forever, and all I have to do is maintain it. Screw those Annuals – I don’t get the point. I see landscaping crews replanting all the time, and they always plant stuff that will die.  What’s the definition of insanity….?

So over the weekend, we went to Houston Garden Center, Walmart, and Home Depot! 

We even bought a new Welcome mat that I LOVE!

We got 8 azaleas of different colors to plant in the front, along with hosta and STARGAZER LILIES! One of my favorite flowers! The Hosta and stargazers are not visible yet – hosta comes as a root, and lilies come as a bulb, so there are currently underground. I also bought a hydrangea (another fav), and some decorative grasses to fill in the holes where previous grass had died in the flowerbed.

After we ran to all of those stores, I was ready to dig some holes! Hubby planned on washing the boat since he had taken it out the day before, so while I was working my butt off (no complaints there!) he was whispering sweet nothings into the boat’s engine compartment. 

For some reason, the previous owner decided that a great place for 21 beautiful flagstones was buried in the mulch of the front garden beds.  Most people I have shown didn’t even know those stones were there. I had been using them to display my collection of yard art, but had an epiphany in the middle of the night and decided I would move them to the backyard to create our walkway. I had been planning on making mosaic stepping stones, but this was much easier, and FREE! My favorite!

My lovely new stone path! (pre raking)

A few weeks ago, Hubby was great and put down some pea-gravel behind the garage, because with all the rain we have been getting lately, the yard was flooding back there. After the pea-gravel was put down though, the flooding just shifted (*facepalm*). The walkway solves the problem!

So my first task when we got back from shopping was water the new babies, since they were pretty thirsty, then break out the wheel barrow and get to moving some stones!

Hubby: “I can do that for you” he says, as he’s washing and waxing and hugging the boat.

Me: “That’s ok” I say as I struggle to keep the wheel barrow on the straight-and-narrow as I navigate up the driveway between Hubby’s truck and the boat on one side, and the house and water bucket on the other. I have a certain image in my mind of how this will look! I did NOT need help. (Thanks anyway, Honey!). Some of those stones had to have weighed closed to 60 pounds each. HOO-RAW!

I arranged all the stones the way I wanted them, then started arranging the plants where I wanted them in the flowerbeds.

Future locations of my new babies, plus soaker-hoses that will soon find their forever homes as well.

I got everything planted, weeds pulled, and soaker-hoses buried! That’s right-the soaker hoses we bought and “placed in the flowerbeds to see where they needed to be” a couple months ago, are now where they belong – UNDER GROUND!

Everything is in the ground that needs to be.

After half a day of hard work, I was ready to take a hot bath, and soak my sore muscles.  Instead, we went for a run that night (GO US) and went to bed very, very early.

Hondo was exhuasted from all the yard work. To be fair, he did have to work pretty hard to re-dig that hole that I filled in. So thoughtless of me.

The next day, when I was planning on being too sore to move, I was only too sore to move comfortably, so I spent some time in the back yard this time.  I repotted some plants, leveled out the new fancy-shmancy stepping stones, and even raked the yard!  Our oak tree has exploded again, but this time it’s flowers. And not even pretty ones! But they are all over everything, turning everything yellow with pollen, and covering the dogs. So I raked the yard and Hubby helped me bag everything up.

After I raked. The next day, the yard looked like nothing happened. *sigh*

Now the yard is ready for grass to start growing! Any day now. That would be great. Really. Great.  Any day.

5 thoughts on “Garden Plans: During”

  1. Way to go Ali!! I think I am starting my yard work this weekend!! I hope to have a garden this year, one that produces!! We’ve had such crappy weather, who knows what will happen!

  2. This is my first time to your blog. I like what I have seen 🙂 I agree about the “free” comment. I like to reuse things I find in useful ways. Good job on the garden. My husband and I also spent the weekend in the yard working to till our vegetable garden and to build onto our chicken coop. I wish it was still nice weather so we could finish the jobs. Have a good rest of the week.

    1. Chickens! I used to have chickens and they were the best! So much fun to watch in the yard. That’s the one downside to where we live now – the yard is too small for chickens and dogs. Thanks for reading and have a good time this Spring in your garden!

Leave a Reply

