Crab Wars

To take advantage of the wonderful weather we have been having lately, Hubby, me, Bro-In-Law, and Friend Annie went down tot he beach for some fun in the sun.  The beach, however, had different plans.  A few weeks ago the Brazos River over-ran its banks from flooding up-river.  Now, all the junk that was in that river has made it to ocean, and now is washed up on the beach.  I can’t believe I didn’t take a picture of it. It looked like an entire forest was washed up on the beach. There was so much wood, children’s toys, and other debris on the beach, we really couldn’t get to the water. And on top of that, there were storms out in the Gulf so the water was really choppy. Surf-worthy almost. So instead, we found a quiet little inlet to fish.

Nice, calm water

There were soft-shell crabs all over the beach where we were, and they kept stealing our bait off our hooks, but they were entertaining to watch.  Especially, when in my head, their voices all sounded like this guy:

"Your mother is a fraggin aardvark!"

It was difficult to stand in the water though, because every time you stopped moving, they would pinch your feet!

We started catching young Red Drum like crazy, but of course we had to throw them back because they were about 1/4 of the legal size.

First catch of the day!

I was getting a little bored, and was going to reel in my line for the last time and then go walk on the beach, when a crab chased me out of the water. Seriously.  Claws ready to go, running after me like I stole something.  There may or may not have been shrieking involved. When I was finally done running away in fear  acting manly and tossing the crab back into the water with my bare hands, I turned back to my line to reel it in. And it was gone. My line had been cut. By a friggin’ crab. 

Little dude was ready to fight

This means war. 

Anyone have a good recipe for soft-shell? Cuz I’m gunna need one.

Leave a Reply

