Thrifty Gifty Craft #3

I have great friends, but I also have FRIENDS. Like from the TV show. Pretty cool, I know. And they tried to do this in the show and it didn’t really work, but in real life it certainly does. Joey and Rachel live behind me. Jealous much?

Contrary to the episode where Rachel is terrified of a pigeon that flies inter her apartment, my Rachel loves birds. She has bird feeders in the back yard and a beautiful bird bath for them too. So when I saw this idea (also from Pinterest) I changed it a bit to fit her style more.

Finished Product

Rachel and Joey also have three cats (not a chick and a duck) so although I loved the idea of this project, I changed it to fake candles so that their house doesn’t burn down. Cats are somewhat evil, and they have a cat that likes to drink out of our glass, so I thought it would have been asking for trouble with real ones.

All I did was decide on a design and cut out the bird. Then put blue painters tape on the jars and trace out the bird on each one.

Now, of course you can do this with any size jars, really. I had one jelly jar that I saved but that was the only one I had, so I bought a mason jar to complete this.

001 (2)

After tracing the design onto the blue painters tape I cut out the design with an exacto knife and removed the rest of the tape.

Then just roll up some newspaper and stuff it into the jar. This does two things: keeps spray paint from getting into the inside of the jar, and gives you a handle for holding onto the jar while you paint it.

So therefore, by default you know the next step is to spray paint the jars. Then remove the blue painters tape and you have some perfect designs on the glass!

The finishing touches were white border paint around the edge of the birds and twine wrapped around the top with a pretty little bow. I love how they turned out, and I hope Rachel did too (I wasn’t there when she opened it)!

022 (2)

 

5 thoughts on “Thrifty Gifty Craft #3”

  1. I love them! As soon as I got them I put them on our mantel. 🙂

    P.S. Good thinking about kitties and real flames! Our fluffy would go up in flame faster than Ben’s old Christmas tree!

Leave a Reply

