Mermaid Jewelry

It seems like we haven’t been doing much lately, but I guess that’s not entirely true. I need to catch up on a few things, blog-wise. I’ve been traveling a lot lately for work and haven’t had much down time. That’s my excuse anyway. So here’s my attempt to catch up on a few things.

First of all, I started making, what I’m calling, Mermaid Jewelry. I’m sure you’ve seen it on Pinterest. Sea glass wrapped in wire, maybe some charms and dangly things on them too. But what I’ve seen on Etsy are SO CRAZY EXPENSIVE. And I thought, I’ve been collecting shells at the beach my entire life. Finally I have something I can do with them!

The first piece I got was actually a gift/find while I was in Jamaica earlier this summer. There was a river that poured out right where the beach was at our resort, so Hubby and I were walking through the water looking for shells when I found this small piece of what I think is painted concrete.
Jamaica necklace

I thought it was beautiful, but I had no idea what I could do with it other than put it on the shelf with my other travel souvenirs and let it gather dust. Until later that day, when a woman who was also staying at the resort showed me how she makes jewelry right there on the beach, with the sea glass and shells she finds while she is there. I watched her wrap some pretty stones and shells, and then I told her about the piece of masonry I found. She wrapped it for me right then and there, and I love it! Now instead of gathering dust on a shelf, I can wear my one-of-a-kind, wonderful, no-you-can’t-have-it, it’s-not-for-sale Jamaican necklace pendant!

Hubby also gave me a heart-shaped rock that he found on the beach, so of course, the first thing I did when we got home from vacation was buy some wire and a new necklace chain, and wrap the small stone.

heart necklace

So now I’m hooked. I have been making shell, stone, and sea glass jewelry for weeks and I can’t possibly wear each and every one of them. Soon I’ll have one for every week of the year! So I have decided to start selling them, at a MUCH lower price than I’ve seen on Etsy. If you are interested, check out my Facebook page, My Wildhood Photography. I have them all posted there, and they are $10 each, plus the cost of shipping.  Below are a couple examples of pendants that are for sale. But check out the full line of pendants! Let me know which one(s) you are interested in, and they will be in the mail ASAP!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

